PKU Trajectory Visualization System


Trajectory data is a very common kind of spatio-temporal data. One typical example of trajectory data is the city traffic trajectory data, which records the tracks of moving objects, e.g. pedestrians, bicycles and various other vehicles. Effective visualization and analysis of such data may help us better understand the urban transportation system, find out strategies to reduce the number of accidents and traffic jams, thus ensuring people's safety, facilitating people's trip and elevating the economic efficiency. In a series of projects, we studied several aspects with trajectory data, including: traffic density, traffic jams and traffic pattern correlation.


Weibo Geo Visualization

We develop an interactive visual analytics system to help users explore the trajectories derived from geo-tagged social media. An uncertainty model integrated with the system is proposed to help users find reliable patterns from such sparse trajectories.


Weibo Footprint Visualization

We develop an interactive visual analytics system to help users explore individual trajectories derived from geo-tagged social media. Users can explore their own and friends' footprint with multi-level spatial temporal visualization. Many interesting individual patterns could be derived with such visualilzation for the mass.


Bus Visualization

We develop a bus visualization interface, Bus Vis, to explore urban bus data. Bus Vis allows users to explore the urban bus information, including traffic animation and passenger counts with time variation.


Analysis on OD Traffic Patterns

We develop a visual method, OD-Wheel, to explore OD patterns of a central region. Given a central region, OD-Wheel allows users to explore the dynamic patterns of OD clusters, including the variation of traffic flow volume and travel time.


Route Travel Behaviour Analysis

We develop a visual method, TrajRank, to study the travel behaviour of vehicles along one route. We focus on the spatial-temporal distribution of travel time, that is, the time spent on each road segment, and the travel time variation in rush/non-rush hours.


Sparse Trajectory Exploration

We show how to explore sparse traffic trajectory generated by urban transporation cells. We focus on macro-traffic analysis, including the traffic patterns on cells and links. We further study the correlation between those patterns.


Trajectory Timeline Visualization

We show how 2D trajectories can be converted to timelines for easy perception of temporal information, and easy aligned comparison. Our timelines are not limited to time varying attributes of trajectories, but also spatial temporal features such as stop, turn, etc. We provide some use cases to show the benefit of our method.


Visual Traffic Jam Analysis

We show the variation of traffic conditions for each road, and the propagation of traffic jams along the road network. We used the taxi GPS trajectories of Beijing, then automatically extracted the traffic jam information. We allow user to further explore the traffic jams through multilevel exploration and multi-faceted filtering.


Traffic Density Rendering

Traffic density rendering is important, because it gives an intuitive overview of massive trajectories. It is also related to the study of traffic jams, hot spots and people's behaviors. We use density map algorithm to generate pictures of traffic density in Beijing, with real taxi GPS data.


Micro Behaviors Analysis

We built a system, TripVista, to explore the micro behaviors of trajectories in three linked perspectives: space, time and attribute. We applied the system to traffic trajectory data at a road intersection, and a global hurricane trajectory dataset. We are able to give an overview and discover some outliers.

北京大学轨迹可视化系统


轨迹数据是一类常见的时空数据,通过位置采样记录物体的移动。根据位置采样的稀疏程度可分为稀疏采样、密集采样两大类。稀疏采样轨迹指相对低采样率的轨迹数据,包括射频与摄像头探测数据、带有地理标签的社交媒体数据等。密集采样轨迹通常则具有较高采样率,一个典型的例子就是城市交通GPS轨迹数据。对这些交通数据的有效分析和可视化能够帮助人们更好的理解交通系统的运作,减少交通事故和拥堵。人们的生活将变得更加安全,出行将更加顺畅,物流也将更加高效。我们对稀疏和密集采样轨迹数据进行了一系列的研究,包括城市交通密度绘制、拥堵分析以及不同交通模式的关联分析、移动行为以及语意分析等工作。

稀疏采样轨迹分析


移动伪基站可视分析

我们开发了分析移动伪基站轨迹的系统,基于移动伪基站的间接信息提取其轨迹,帮助相关法律部门检测并且追踪移动伪基站的移动模式。


稀疏轨迹可视分析

我们介绍如何探索城市智能交通基站采集的稀疏轨迹数据。我们将重点研究宏观交通,包括基站和链路上的交通模式分析。此外,我们还将研究不同模式的相互关联。

密集采样轨迹分析


多路径选择行为分析

我们提出多路径选择行为的可视分析方法,研究司机在面对多条可选路径时的选择行为及影响选择行为因素的关联分析。


区域间交通模式分析

我们提出可视分析方法OD-Wheel,探索以某区域为中心的源、目的地间的交通模式。给定一个区域,OD-Wheel允许用户探索源、目的地之间的动态模式,包括交通流量及行车时间的变化。


单条道路交通行为可视分析

我们提出可视分析方法TrajRank,研究单条道路上的浮动车交通行为。我们重点研究行车时间的时空分布,即,研究各路段以及高峰/非高峰时间的行车时间变化。


交通时间线可视化

我们介绍一些方法,将二维轨迹转化为时间线,以更好的展示轨迹的时间信息,并方便轨迹的对齐比较。我们的时间线不仅研究轨迹的时变属性,还研究其时空特征,例如停止和转弯。我们将会用一些真实数据的分析案例来说明方法的有效性。


交通拥堵可视分析

我们展示不同道路交通状况随时间的变化模式,以及交通拥堵在路网上的传播方式。为此,我们从北京市出租车轨迹数据出发,自动提取了交通拥堵事件和传播关系。我们的系统支持对于交通拥堵的多层次探索分析。用户可以对交通拥堵传播关系进行筛选和比较,还可以通过动画进行验证。


交通密度绘制

交通密度图可以直观的总结大量交通轨迹数据,因此非常重要。它可以帮助分析人员研究交通拥堵,交通热点以及人们的出行行为。我们使用真实的出租车数据绘制了北京市交通密度图。


微观行为分析

我们构建了TripVista系统,从三个角度分析轨迹的微观行为。这三个角度包括:时间、空间和属性。在我们的系统中,它们紧密联系。我们使用TripVista系统分析了一个路口的交通轨迹数据,以及全球的台风轨迹数据。我们可以看到总体特征,并找到一些异常行为。